Latest Updates for Parkside Elementary

The most recent messages will be displayed at the top of this page. Check back often for updates. Be sure to subscribe to our YouTube Channel for video updates. 


03/30/2020

Hello Parkside Families, 

We hope you and your family are doing well. Teachers and other staff are reaching out to students over the next couple weeks via email and phone. Please reach out to them if you haven't heard from them, missed their call, or got an email. We may have been out of the school building, but we have been working hard for all of our students. As we transition to online learning, we don't want any students to miss out. Don't know your teacher's email? Scroll down on this page to the 03/23/20 update for a list of various staff and teachers email addresses.


"I don't have a computer for my child to do online learning!" Don't worry! We are on it!

Parkside Students who do NOT have access to at least one computer for student use, may pick up a Chromebook device at Parkside. We ask that you do not check out a device if you already have a computer at home, since we have a limited number of devices for students who really need them. A parent must sign form to check out a device for your elementary students to share. Families without internet will be given information about a free service from Comcast. If you have children attending other schools, such as Middle School or High School, please check your email for communication from them about days/times for pickup.  

K-5 CHROMEBOOK PICK UP AT PARKSIDE

Tuesday 3/31 from 9am-12pm & Wednesday 4/1 from 1pm - 4pm

6-8 CHROMEBOOK PICK UP AT PACIFIC

Monday 3/30 from 1pm-4pm & wednesday 4/1 9am-12pm


STAY CONNECTED VIA YOUTUBE AND PARKSIDE UPDATES!

New this week: Mr. Burt, Ms. Hammer, and Mrs. B.T. have posted some really fun videos for you, so check them out! 

Stay Safe and Healthy!

Parkside Staff


 


03/23/2020

Hello Parkside Families,

We hope this new week is bringing a sense of adjusting to the new normal. We are your school, and we want you to know that we are here to support you and your family as we navigate through the mandated closures. Secondly, we want to extend our personal gratitude and appreciation for Parkside families who are working long hours in essential services such as healthcare, grocery, restaurants, delivery, and other various services. We could not do this without you!  Here are a few announcements and info for you.

  • If your child is having difficulty dealing with their emotions around coronavirus, or you need help finding additional resources, we also invite you to reach out to our school counselor, Helen Edwards, via email at: helen.edwards@highlineschools.org.
  • We understand that maintaining a strong connection between school and your child is vital. In the next few weeks, teachers and/or other school staff will be reaching out to you. If you receive a call from a blocked or unknown number, it may be the school or your child’s teacher calling. If you do NOT receive a call, please email the office staff melanie.bowman@highlineschools.org to update your contact information. If you or your student would like to reach out to your teacher or a staff member by email, please see below for their email address.

PARKSIDE STAFF EMAIL LIST

Kindergarten

     MCCOY               Shantell.Mccoy@highlineschools.org

     MABALAY            Alecia.Rochelle@highlineschools.org

     HARADA             Kacie.Harada@highlineschools.org

First Grade

     PATRICELLI        Kathy.Patricelli@highlineschools.org

     RIOS                   Jennifer.Rios@highlineschools.org

Second Grade

      HODGKIN          Deborah.Hodgkin@highlineschools.org

      MCCLURG         Paula.McClurg@highlineschools.org

      WILLIAMS          Janae.Williams@highlineschools.org

Third Grade

     GOODMAN         Kimberlee.Goodman@highlineschools.org 

     GRECO              Jeana.Greco@highlineschools.org

     SAHM                 Rebecca.Sahm@highlineschools.org

Fourth Grade

     DIAZ                    Tiffany.Diaz@highlineschools.org

     GARDNER          Ruth.BaechleGardner@highlineschools.org   

     GRASDALEN      Lisa.Grasdalen@highlineschools.org

      YEE                    Jeanette.Yee@highlineschools.org

Fifth Grade

     BRASSFIELD      Chelsea.Brassfield@highlineschools.org

     DIAZ                    Tiffany.Diaz@highlineschools.org

     SANDLIN             Teniea.Sandlin@highlineschools.org

SPECIAL EDUCATION

      HOWARD            Janean.Howard@highlineschools.org

     WITKOWSKI        Pamela.Witkowski@highlineschools.org

     EVANS                 Diane.Evans@highlineschools.org

     Occupational Therapy  Patricia.Pickard@highlineschools.org

     Physical Therapy          Larcy.Amorelle@highlineschools.org

     Speech Therapy           David.Ramm@highlineschools.org

                                          Ogadinma.Onwuka@highlineschools.org

MUSIC

      HAMMER            Alana.Hammer@highlineschools.org

     BURT                   Thomas.Burt@highlineschools.org

     LARKINS             Gerald.Larkins@highlineschools.org

PHYSICAL EDUCATION (P.E.)

     HAMMOCK          Roy.Hammock@highlineschools.org

     GARCIA               Hermilo.Garcia@highlineschools.org

OTHER

     LIBRARIAN          Celeste.BorowiakTimulak@highlineschools.org

     COUNSELOR      Helen.Edwards@highlineschools.org

     OFFICE/ADMIN STAFF

                             Office Manager               Becky.McLachlan@highlineschools.org

                             Office Assistant               Melanie.Bowman@highlineschools.org

                             Family Support                Chelsie.Colmenares@highlineschools.org

                             Principal                           Bobbi.Giammona@highlineschools.org

                             Assistant Principal           Rebecca.Williams@highlineschools.org

                             Instructional Coach          Ruth.BaechleGardner@highlineschools.org

                             School Nurse                   Stacy.Harris@highlineschools.org

This is not an exhaustive list of Parkside staff. If we’ve missed a staff member you would like to contact, please reach out to the office staff via email.


 

03/19/20

Hello Parkside Families,

As we continue to navigate these trying times, we want each of you to know that we at Parkside are here for you and your family. Thank you for your patience as our school district is working hard to get information and details out as quickly as possible. We know the connection between your family and the school community is important, and we love our families and our students! While it may look different for some time, we will do our best to keep you connected with timely information brought to you by our friendly staff at Parkside.

We wanted to share a couple videos with you on our new Parkside Elementary YouTube Channel. Be sure to like and subscribe so you and your children don't miss out on video updates. We will be posting additional videos over the next several weeks. 

  • Here is a video message from our Principal, Bobbi Giammona. Stay tuned for details about the Parkside Fitness Challenge, and be sure to BREATHE deep breaths every day.
  • Learn and sing along to our Parkside Elementary School Song, written and performed by Ms. Hammer!
  • Did you miss out on getting a non-digital homework packet for grades K-5? These can be picked up at any of the HPS meal sites during the times listed. At the moment, the food bank sites (including Parkside) do not have packets available. We will reach out if this changes. Homework Packets can also be downloaded and printed.  
  • If you know a parent or guardian who is not receiving emails, please send a request to: becky.mclachlan@highlineschools.org to update their information. We will need parent name, student name, and current email address. 

Stay safe and be healthy!

Parkside Elementary Staff
 


 

03/13/20

Parkside Families,

Here's a special video message from our school principal, Ms. Bobbi Giammona.

Highline Schools are on a mandatory closure through April 24th. Don’t let your student get behind while schools are closed. Please see the attached document for information on how your student can stay on track with their schoolwork at home. Homework by Grade Level English/Spanish. Please visit Online Learning Resources for access to tools. Stay tuned for additional information. 

If you do not have internet access at home for your student, there is a low or no cost internet for needy families from Comcast. To sign up, applicants can simply visit www.internetessentials.com. The accessible website also includes the option to video chat with customer service agents in American Sign Language. There are also two dedicated phone numbers 1-855-846-8376 for English and 1-855-765-6995 for Spanish.

Check in with your student and how they are feeling using the Mood Meter below.

mood meter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are several "Grab and Go" meal sites & times  for children under 18 which will provide both breakfast and lunch. Parkside will also host a meal site through the Des Moines Food Bank from 12:00-12:30pm every weekday. Drive up to the main office in car line. Children 1-18 must be present to receive sack meals. Adults do not have to be present.

For the most updated district and public health information, please check your email daily for communication from the Highline School District or visit the district website. Public Health information updates can be found here.

Stay healthy and safe!

Parkside Elementary Staff